The Incredible Journey

By taking Social Media, Social Change this semester it has certainly been one of the best experiences of my college career thus far. To image a group of just ten honors students were able to accomplish as much as we did, is simply incredible. I really enjoyed the hands on approach of this course; it allowed me to be creative, innovative, and hopeful that with hard work, determination, and patience, in the end, I would be a success.

School Supplies for Afghan Children is such a wonderful project and by using social media to raise funds and bring awareness to a cause that so many people turn a blind eye to, was perhaps one of the biggest accomplishments. By highlighting these issues to members of our community, we were able to rally support and raise awareness on so many different levels. Now, our goal of collecting 110 boxes of school supplies for the Afghan children was certainly achieved. We collected a total of 133 boxes of school supplies and we will be receiving more supplies in the coming weeks. I am delighted to know that we are changing the lives of many Afghan children, who rely greatly on the school supplies we have collected in order for them to attend school.

The Journey was long but it was well worth it! (Photo Courtesy http://www.90percentofeverything.com)

I would like to say thank you to everyone who have supported me on this journey, particularly Bishop Regester of the New Life Christian Fellowship Church, I so greatly appreciate your support and the support your congregation have showed me throughout this experience. Alex, I want to say thank you for your help in getting the word out about this project and for collecting school supplies for me as well, you made this entire experience that much easier for me. Thank you to the USF postal service for providing us with all the shipment boxes for our many boxes of school supplies. Thank you to Dean Silverman and the USF Honors College for making this great cause into a course. I assure you, this experience was far more effective to me than any traditional textbook based honors course I have ever taken. Most importantly, thank you to my classmates for working so hard in making this semester a success, I will miss you all.

I would like to extend a special thank you to my instructor Liisa Temple and her spouse retired SMSgt Rex Temple. SMSgt Temple, I am so thankful that you were able to see the importance of education for these boys and girls in Afghanistan during your tours there and to realize that education was the only way out of poverty. By you realizing this urgent need for change within the educational system in Afghanistan, is the reason why this course even came into effect. Thank you for your service and thank you for changing so many lives.

Oh Liisa! I’ve had an amazing time with you this semester, I could not have asked for a better outcome. You are so passionate about this cause and go to the extreme length to accomplish our goals. You’re hard working, sensitive to the needs of the Afghan children, and I loved your hands on approach to everything throughout the semester. Your teaching style is simply the best and thanks for always being that voice to say: “I hope you guys realize you’re doing a great job”, hearing you say that was a reassurance for me to keep trying and to excel in this course. I wish you all the best in the future and I hope your next class will appreciate this experience as much as I did. Thank you!

This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, blog, Change, Children, Education, Fundraising, Holland & Knight Foundation, School Supplies for Afghan Children, US Army, USF Honors College and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

