Lessons Learned

Have a little faith. That is the main lesson I learned from this semester partaking in the School Supplies for Afghan Children drive.

Intrigue: my initial feeling when I heard about this class. I liked the idea that I would not have to do many papers or tests, but instead could devote my entire time to one big project. I had never organized my own service project, so I was intrigued by the idea that I would get this opportunity to challenge myself and do something I have never done to help others. In addition, I was drawn to the fact that this class involved social media. Being a journalism student, I understand the importance of social media in today’s society for getting the word out; technology is becoming ever prevalent and writing has increasingly transferred to the Internet. I was intrigued, therefore, to see how social media would help us succeed in our fundraising goals this semester.

Packing the remaining boxes in our final class of the semester (Photo taken by me)

Fear: When the class actually started, I was incredibly intimidated. How was I going to achieve so much in just a semester? And I found out that not only were we collecting for one charity, we were adding another one in towards the middle of the semester. This seemed like a lot to take on. I had no idea how all of this would happen, how I was going to find time to accomplish this magnanimous task before me.

Disappointment: I suffered disappointment right off the bat. The minute people started saying the word “no” to me, I knew that this was going to be a lot harder than I first thought. This was going to try me in ways mentally that I had never been tried before. I was going to face disappointment after disappointment as people turned me down, but it was how I tackled those disappointments that would make the difference between me succeeding or not.

Determination: Disappointment quickly turned into determination. I wanted to help change these kid’s lives. I wouldn’t take no for an answer. I would exhaust all resources to achieve what I set out to achieve. I would rack my brain of all alternatives on how to accomplish even more. I wouldn’t stop at 100% but strive for 120%.

Hope: Now I have hope. This long journey may be over for me as the semester comes to a close, but it is just the beginning of changing these kid’s lives. It is just the beginning of my ability to help those less fortunate.

68 boxes in one day (Photo taken by me)

I have a renewed energy and a feeling of accomplishment that no textbook-based class could ever have fulfilled. I feel extremely blessed to have been given this opportunity. I feel like I not only made a difference in the lives of others, I made a difference in my life, for the better.

About Allison Chalifoux

Hey everyone. I am a student at the University of South Florida majoring in public relations and business. I am a triathlete so am always training and working out. (huge nutrition and exercise buff here). I love adventure, travel, and experiencing new and exciting things. I love to cook and bake. You can find me in the kitchen most of the time experimenting with new recipes. My dream is to eventually open my own bakery specializing in wedding cakes. My nickname is Little Sunshine, so the purpose of my blogs is to bring a smile to people's faces and inspire them in their day to day activities. I currently work as a lifeguard at Adventure Island in Tampa.
This entry was posted in Change, Charity, Fundraising, School Supplies for Afghan Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

