A little bit of hope.

Six boxes down, four to go! And maybe even more!! We did not have class yesterday, giving us time to collect all school supplies to be shipped to Afghanistan. I was able to collect 6 boxes worth of school supplies, many of them from residents in Juniper. I collected pens, pencils, sharpeners, binders full of paper, and packets of computer and construction paper. I drove to houses of friends to collect all they had, and a few businesses I left boxes at. At the end of the day I had six boxes packed and ready to go on their journey to a small place very far away.

6 boxes ready to go! (photo by Archana Reddy)

It is a humbling feeling to imagine that the pencils I pack with my own hands today will reach the small hands of the children in Afghanistan, and each one will make an impact in their lives. Papers will be distributed, markers handed out to eager hands and smiling faces. It was the spirit of a child that started this charity, and it is the spirit of children and soldiers in Afghanistan and us here in America that will keep the charity going. It took a very brave couple to start it, and each person involved seems to have caught a little bit of courage from them too.

Erin and I will be working on an event for school supplies during finals week in which we hope to collect more donations during a study session at USF. Hopefully all students attending will empty out their desks of pens, pencils, paper, and notebooks they haven’t used and bring them to donate! Hopefully we will be successful then!

Some school supplies I packed into a box (photo by Archana Reddy)

Education conquers all; it can help end a war we haven’t been able to for a long time. Our love for one another as human beings is what ties us to the children and soldiers in Afghanistan. Yet it’s more than just love that gets these supplies there: it’s care, patience, perseverance. It is the beat of our hearts and fire inside of ourselves that motivates us to do something amazing. What binds us to Afghanistan, to the children there is very simple…

…it’s hope.

About anar242

Hi! My name is Archana but I go by Ana. I am a 20 year old senior at USF and I am studying Biology. I aspire to be a physician and in the future I would love to work for Doctors Without Borders. In my free time I enjoy swimming, tennis, drawing, surfing, and hanging out with friends. I am excited to embark on this new journey through my major works major issues class with Liisa Temple as our professor.
This entry was posted in Afghan War, Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, Change, Charity, Children, Children, Education, Fundraising, helping, Inspiration, Opportunities, Partner organizations, School Supplies for Afghan Children, Shipping, Social media, University of South Florida, USF Honors College, USF Housing and Residential Education, War in Afghanistan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

