A Simple Thank You

The necklace my brother got me (Photo by: Shelby Register, 2012).

My brother is a large part of my life. And, I don’t mean large just because he is 6’ 5”. I mean large in the fact that we would do pretty much anything for each other. Sure, we fight sometimes, and we’re not always the best of friends; but we know we can count on each other. Just this weekend, my brother went to the local Renaissance festival. When he got home, he handed me a “Baby Dragon Tooth” Necklace just as a little trinket. It’s the small things like this that mean the most in life.

I spent the weekend at my house, which allowed me to hang out and catch up with my older brother. It also allowed me time to send Greg Para an email. Greg is the troop that will be getting the majority of the supplies we’ve collected at the end of the semester. I just sent him a note with a picture of my packed boxes attached so he could see what we’ve been up to. His reply really spoke to me. He said, “Thank you so much for caring enough to not only volunteer for this project but to take the time to send the picture to me. We really appreciate it.” Those words probably only took him a few minutes to write, but to be recognized for my help meant the world to my spirits.

With that in mind, I realized that I owe some words to a number of people. It’s not a big gesture, but a small trinket or quick thank you note means just as much sometimes. So, I dedicate this blog to the heroes of my semester.

A Thank You card to all my heroes! (Photo from: http://www.4showers.com/Store/NoahsArkWhimsicalThankYouCards.html 2012)

To the family, friends, and acquaintances. To the professor that got me involved in this project. To the strangers who don’t know me, but have donated. To the youth director that allowed me to speak to his youth group. To the troops who are serving overseas and will deliver these supplies. To my parents and brother for their love and support during this semester. I thank you all.

With Love, Shelby

About Shelby R.

Shelby Register is in her third year at the University of South Florida. She is pursuing a Bachelor's of Science degree in Chemistry and is participating in the Honors College program. After her graduation, she hopes to go to medical school. In her free time, Shelby likes to volunteer, travel, watch the Food Network, and try out new recipes in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Children, School Supplies for Afghan Children, USF Honors College and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

