The Last Stretch

I’m not a particularly athletic person, so when I say that I avoid using sports metaphors, is an understatement. However, I can only compare this point in my journey with the School Supplies for Afghan Children organization to the last lap of a race. The initial sprint to get supplies was run, the distance of work involved in soliciting friends and family was covered. Finally, the wall of an event was planned and surpassed. All that remains is to keep up the effort square everything off for the finish.

The Honors College donation box after our event. Photo acquired from Liisa Temple.

We found out just how well our supplies drive did a few weeks back. Since many of the passerby’s didn’t have any supplies on them we told them to drop off anything they could at the USF Honors College; and boy were we surprised. The drop box was nearly overflowing with supplies. After boxing up a portion of it, we can easily account four boxes worth. That’s twice what we expected after the event a week and a half ago. I am overjoyed with the results and want to thank everyone for their help and support.

I feel that coming into the last month of the semester there is little work left. I’m still

A couple of the boxes I've been able to collect this semester. Photo by Alejandro Cuesta.

trying to sequester donations from my letter targets; but half have given supplies. The event was a success and with at least a box worth of donations for me from the class attributed drop locations, I have at least six to seven boxes. I am grateful for all the help I’ve received and urge you to make a donation if you haven’t already.

As always, follow this link for a list of items collected for school supply donations or if you have supplies for donation. Thank you for your support and have a good weekend.

This entry was posted in Bulls Business Community, Children, Fundraising, School Supplies for Afghan Children, Uncategorized, University of South Florida, USF Honors College and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

