If At First You Don’t Succeed…

This just in! Progress on the home front. So exciting. With only a little over a week left to collect school supplies, I have been vigorously working to get the word out and collect, collect, collect. I have contacted my apartment complex’s leasing office to keep reminding them to send out e-mails about the school supply drive. They have sent out a reminder almost every other day. There is a box full of supplies in the office.

I also decided to put my contribution forth and went to Target to school supply shop. I actually found myself enjoying browsing the various aisles, picking out supplies that were fun and colorful. These children need something exciting. I ended up with much more in my check-out bag then I intended, but knowing that it will be going to a good cause, I didn’t mind one bit.

Sorted Supplies (Photo Taken By: Rex Temple)

I went home Thursday and enjoyed a pleasant surprise. My parents had collected all the extra supplies hanging around the house from the years of schooling my sister and I. Bags of colored pencils. Notebooks of different shapes and sizes that looked almost brand new. Pens and pencils obtained from the various conferences my dad attended in years passed for work.

In addition to the physical supplies I received, I also received monetary donations. My best friend’s aunt and uncle, my pseudo-aunt and uncle as I like to call them, sent me a check in the mail the other day. My dad’s company received my business donation letter and decided to mail a check to me on behalf of the company.

Afghan Children Waiting for Supplies (Photo Taken By: Rex Temple)

I am finally seeing results. My days of waiting, of checking the mail and receiving nothing, are over. My hard work is finally paying off.

Lesson learned. “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.”

There is one week left to give. Find out how here

About Allison Chalifoux

Hey everyone. I am a student at the University of South Florida majoring in public relations and business. I am a triathlete so am always training and working out. (huge nutrition and exercise buff here). I love adventure, travel, and experiencing new and exciting things. I love to cook and bake. You can find me in the kitchen most of the time experimenting with new recipes. My dream is to eventually open my own bakery specializing in wedding cakes. My nickname is Little Sunshine, so the purpose of my blogs is to bring a smile to people's faces and inspire them in their day to day activities. I currently work as a lifeguard at Adventure Island in Tampa.
This entry was posted in Change, Charity, Children, School Supplies for Afghan Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

