Catching Fire

As a die-hard The Hunger Games fan, I cannot wait for this Thursday at midnight (the release of the first movie version of the book series). One notable characteristic of this book series is the question of morality that is constantly being asked. An idea of rebellion ignites with the main character and then catches fire among other people. Okay, that’s great….but why am I rambling on about this?

How can I spread an idea as well as Katniss in The Hunger Games? (Image from yzocaet.blogspot.com)

Well, as per usual, when I read or watch any sort of fiction, I try to relate it to my own life. Although fantasy elements are not probable, there often is realism in books that I can apply to my own life. In the case of The Hunger Games, this week I can relate to an idea catching fire. On Monday, Phoebe and I visited Alpha Omicron Pi’s chapter house. We presented the School Supplies for Afghanistan Children cause to the girls and left boxes with them at the house.

It's time to get to the Greeks! (Image from www2.tbo.com)

My hope is that this process will ‘catch fire’ among the girls. That is, I hope I proposed the cause well enough to inspire them to fill two boxes over the next month with school supplies. Perhaps they will even tell their friends or other sororities. In fact, maybe I can even help spread the word around USF Greek village…

As I was telling my friend Rachael about how I visited Alpha Omicron Pi, she immediately offered me contact information for her sorority president. Who knows, in a week I may be presenting at another chapter meeting!  So now, I present a challenge to you readers. Can you make an idea catch fire among others? If you have a suggestion of how to do this, please leave a comment below! If you would like to support our cause please click here.

This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, Charity, Children, Education, helping, Partner organizations, Sorority, University of South Florida and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

