Everyone Has a Reason

Well Spring Break has come and gone, it was nice but it was definitely too short. However, it was a rousing success in terms of work done for our school supplies project! Last night, I went to St. Andrews United Methodist Church to speak at the high school worship service called “The Edge”. This opportunity came about when I contacted my old Youth Pastor to see if he would be interested in turning our drive into a mission for his students. I’d have to say that I was very impressed with the group of high schoolers that I spoke to. They were attentive and I felt that they really understood the importance of what I spoke about.

Because of the fact that I was speaking to a youth group about missions, some of my presentation was biblically-based. As a Christian, I know how important it is to share the love of Jesus with others. If you’re not a Christian, I’m not going to shove my religion and beliefs down your throat. I’m not going to try to send pencils with “Jesus Loves You” on them to the children of Afghanistan. We all have different motivations for helping this cause. An American could want to support the troops with this effort. A teacher could want to support education efforts halfway around the world. A Christian could want to share the love of Christ with people they will never meet by doing something nice for them. This was the point of view that I spoke with last night.

All in all, I think last night was a great success. I collected about three grocery bags full of various supplies from the middle school and high school youth groups and $36.77 to buy more supplies. After my presentation ended, the floor was opened for questions, and everyone seemed really engaged about the cause. I even had a few promises of more supplies to be dropped off soon. I’m excited to see what comes of it and would just love to send a big shout out to Breakthrough Student Ministries. If you guys are reading this, thanks for your help and such a warm reception!

If you’d like to hear my presentation, it can be found on YouTube here. The first half of the video is part of their worship service, and my message starts at the 17:30 mark.

My Presentation from Last Night

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Shelby R.

Shelby Register is in her third year at the University of South Florida. She is pursuing a Bachelor's of Science degree in Chemistry and is participating in the Honors College program. After her graduation, she hopes to go to medical school. In her free time, Shelby likes to volunteer, travel, watch the Food Network, and try out new recipes in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Awareness campaigns, Children, Partner organizations, School Supplies for Afghan Children, University of South Florida, USF Honors College, War in Afghanistan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

