A Simple Ask

I had the biggest breakthrough a couple of days ago, leaving me absolutely speechless. I am finally making progress in my school supplies drive and it feels great. This week shows the importance of what a simple ask can do.

Taken From: Google

Sunday night was my first official fundraiser event. I gave a presentation before the start of the Catholic Student Union meeting, providing background information on our school supply drive and inviting members to join with me in helping this wonderful cause. The people at the meeting seemed very responsive to my donation ask. The president even piped in and joined my ask by informing his members that they could easily pick up school supplies for cheap at Wal-Mart. One of the girls helped me hang a poster in their meeting room and place a donation box underneath it. I am excited to return after spring break and see what progress I have made. I also was able to contact the secretary of the CSU to ask if she could include a blurb about this collection in their weekly newsletter. Without hesitation, she agreed. The people were so willing to help. I guess my positive attitude and desire to help others radiated outward and instilled a fire in them to want to help.

Monday morning I was inspired to reach out even further by contacting the head of my apartment complex. I figured it was worth a shot; they are always having fundraisers so why not see if they wouldn’t mind helping me out. The worst they could say would be no. So I wrote up a very warm email about the background of our project and what the project is all about. Within a few hours Lori, the office manager, responded to me saying she, and the whole office staff, were more than willing to help me out. She even went as far as to suggest holding a raffle to entice residents to donate. I was ecstatic. She was just as in to it as I was. The next day I received another email from Lori. The office went ahead and purchased a few $25 gift cards for the raffle. When I asked how much I owed them, I was left speechless when the response given was simply “Nothing.” Lori even went ahead and made a flyer and sent out an email to all the residents about the drive. I was floored that she was going above and beyond what I had asked. I was never expecting her to get so involved and help me put so many pieces together without me doing anything in return.

Flyer that Lori made and sent out to the 42North residents

Lesson learned: a simple ask can go a long way. Don’t give up or get frustrated. You never know what people are going to say until you ask. So let go of inhibitions. The most unlikely people can really make a huge difference.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” (Matthew 7:7)

About Allison Chalifoux

Hey everyone. I am a student at the University of South Florida majoring in public relations and business. I am a triathlete so am always training and working out. (huge nutrition and exercise buff here). I love adventure, travel, and experiencing new and exciting things. I love to cook and bake. You can find me in the kitchen most of the time experimenting with new recipes. My dream is to eventually open my own bakery specializing in wedding cakes. My nickname is Little Sunshine, so the purpose of my blogs is to bring a smile to people's faces and inspire them in their day to day activities. I currently work as a lifeguard at Adventure Island in Tampa.
This entry was posted in Catholic Students, Charity, Fundraising, School Supplies for Afghan Children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Simple Ask

  1. I was touched by your story. Great job! What a wonderful cause!!

  2. Pingback: Ask… | The Adventures of a Cape Wearing Mom

Leave a Reply

