Taking A Stand

Here I am on a Sunday night, sitting in my living room- lights on, T.V on, a computer to type on… I’m left reflecting on how fortunate I am and have been for the past 21 years of my life. Sure, there have been the occasional ups and downs, familial situations, health issues, deaths … but overall we have it pretty good here. Not only do I live in a house with running water and electricity to keep me plugged into my accustomed comforts, but am also able to rise every morning and go to school.

Choices. Photo Courtesy of http://www.allthingsworkplace.com

I’m able to play an active role in deciding what my future will be. The choices I make in my education are mine and mine alone. Whether or not I study and do my homework are decisions I have the freedom to choose. Now, I’m not ignorant. I realize that this is not something that everyone is able to say. Not even everyone in my town, my state, my country. I realize that there are many areas and people whose family may not be able to support or supply them in this way; those who are forced to choose their education or to help their family survive. I realize this.

However, I also know that there are others whose local leaders, governments, political systems, who do not have their future interests at heart. I mean the interest for the future generations, the kids. Shouldn’t everyone have the opportunity to decide what s/he wants for their future? If someone decides to do something that would not be deemed favorable shouldn’t they at least have the opportunity to make an educated decision about it? To be presented with the facts: pros and cons and to know their options. Really know them without the presence of bias.

Why is the world not fair? Why doesn’t everyone get the same opportunities?

Although I don’t have the answers for that I do know that SMSgt Temple, Professor Temple, and supporters of what we’re doing: past, present, and future all stand to make a difference. A difference in the lives of children so that they too may have the opportunity to choose what their own future will be. Will you stand with us? If you are following us for the first time, see how it began at: http://afghanistanmylasttour.com/school-supplies-for-afghan-children/

Group of kids holding up their new school supplies. Their opportunity for choosing. Photo Courtesy of SMSgt. Temple

About Phoebe

I'm a student at the University of South Florida majoring in Biomedical Sciences. I would like to be a Speech Language Pathologist in the future. In my spare time I enjoy learning new things, meeting new people, spending time with my family and traveling. Oh, and a good book is always a plus!
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, blog, Change, Children, Children, Education, Opportunities, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

