An Object in Motion

Photo: pdfcast.org

In grade school we all learned about Newton’s First Law of Motion: “an object in motion stays in motion until acted upon by an outside force. An object at rest stays at rest until acted upon by an outside force.” I find that this can be applied to many things in life, and at this moment I can feel the inertia building up, waiting to push me and my projects in the direction toward success.

This week I sent out letters to friends, colleagues, and those in my network that I thought would be able to contribute in some way to School Supplies for Afghan Children.  I only sent out a few, and many people I reached out to got back to me with different ideas of things that we could do together and suggestions for support.

I am reaching the point in my efforts that the potential energy is building up. Different plans to expand the school supply drive, add a new collection site, and spread the word on a radio show are all in the works.  No plans have been set in stone yet so my “object” has not officially really started in motion, but with all these forces building up I am confident that once it starts it wont stop.

A few supplies donated by a personal friend. Photo: Erin Potter

Newton’s Second Law states “change of motion depends on the magnitude of the force and the mass of the object.”  This makes me think directly about the project I am working on.  The idea to collect school supplies is not anything new by any means, but to send the supplies to hazardous zones in Afghanistan brings such a magnitude to the drive. There is a tremendous opportunity for change in these young lives. When I directly correlate this with the “mass” of the object it perplexes me even more. Just one pencil can accomplish so much. It is something so small and so insignificant in many of our lives that could quite possibly bring peace to the war torn nation.

And this brings me to Newton’s Third Law: “for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.” Now I know this works in Newton’s case, but for me, I would rearrange this law.  Potter’s Third Law of Giving: “for every action there is an exponential reaction of change.”  When we provide philanthropic support or hands on service it could be just a few dollars to us or a few pencils in the bottom of our drawer.  Our efforts could be so simple that we never miss what we give, but the potential for the change we can contribute to is something we can feel forever.

This entry was posted in Change, School Supplies for Afghan Children, Uncategorized, University of South Florida, USF Honors College and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

