Working towards a better future

Hi friends!

Last week we turned in our preliminary plans for how we plan to collect our school supplies. It’s been a bit of a rocky road although the highlights have more than made up for the low points. Besides, it’s only the beginning. Over the weekend I decorated a few boxes while watching the Oscars. Now, my designs are not quite as fancy as the Oscar dresses, but they are quite colorful if I do say so myself. I wanted them to look fun and childish so hopefully it accomplished that. Actually, now that I think about it I almost think that they look like they’re from the 70’s. The designs of the 70’s are back in style now aren’t they?  I took a few photos of them but I plan to also attach a sheet that has information about the  project onto the boxes. Anyone have ideas on how to make a box attract attention? I’ll let you be the judge of it. Leave a comment below.

Working on the designing of the wrapping for the box. Photo:Phoebe Chang 2012

Today, I’m going to go to my alma mater and ask some of my teachers if they’ll let me present in their classes and leave my newly designed boxes. Here’s for hoping that the answer will be “YES!”. I suppose that when there is a movement that you want to pass onto others it’s difficult to portray to someone else what the specific aspects that impact you are. You can’t cause others to feel the same way as you or think the same way because each person’s experiences are different. I suppose that’s what I’m struggling with now. I’m trying to figure out how I can impress someone else with what I’m learning through this class and by reading and viewing material that I haven’t seen or considered before. How do I get someone to value something when they haven’t seen or heard what I have? Are words enough to convince someone of something they haven’t experienced?

On a different note- on Friday I was looking up something on WordPress and I got to this page: http://arzowardak.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/school-supplies-for-afghan-school-children/. At first I was confused because the post had the same name as our site but I quickly realized that this was done by someone else who also had a heard for the children of Afghanistan and their future. The pictures are magnificent and so beautiful not just because of the scenery but the smiles on the kids are priceless. Seeing the pictures I almost feel as though I was a part of it even though I wasn’t. Does that make sense? The supplies I’ve helped collect have not yet gone out but it’s almost like a foretaste of what the reactions of those kids would be. Although I wasn’t active in the packages that Arzo sent I feel a joint effort towards the future of these kids and I have to selfishly admit that makes me have a warm feeling inside.

We’re all working together towards a common goal. Regardless of who does what or how much is done by one person, all of the efforts are drops in the bucket. A cumulative  effort towards education and a better future.

The finished product. The design of the box on top is drawn by my brother. Photo: Phoebe Chang 2012

About Phoebe

I'm a student at the University of South Florida majoring in Biomedical Sciences. I would like to be a Speech Language Pathologist in the future. In my spare time I enjoy learning new things, meeting new people, spending time with my family and traveling. Oh, and a good book is always a plus!
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, blog, Children, Children, Education, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working towards a better future

  1. Arzo Wardak says:

    Hello again Phoebe! I really enjoyed reading your blog post and appreciate you sharing our pictures from Afghanistan. Believe or not, my best friend Roxanne sent those supplies from Basrah, Iraq. She was collecting supplies while being stationed there, then sent them to my father in Kabul, Afghanistan. If she can do that on a base that’s regularly targeted with bombs by insurgents, then we can surely do that from the comfort of our own homes. It doesn’t matter who does it or how it’s done, it’s about uniting with those who share the same passion to help others. And the road to unity is through empowerment. When we empower each other here and believe in each other, we grow and so do our achievements. 🙂

    I want to invite you to a FB page for an organization I’m now actively taking part in. The organization is called Ayenda Foundation and it was founded by the Afghan Ambassador’s wife, Shamim Jawad. Ayenda Foundation has had numerous projects that focus on education for women and children in Afghanistan. I’d love for you to visit their FB page and learn more about their previous projects: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ayenda-Foundation/132804530114660?sk=wall

    As the afghan saying goes, “Drop by drop, we can make a river.”

    Arzo

  2. Phoebe says:

    Arzo,

    Thank you for your encouraging words. You’re right. The road is paved through working together and empowering each other. I’ll definitely take a look at the foundation. Thanks for passing it on.

    -Phoebe

Leave a Reply

