Speaking with an Audience in Mind

This week really kicks off our school supply drive. We are sending out our donor letters and finalizing our plans for a collection event we must lead. Everything is starting to come together nicely, and I’m excited to start seeing progress in our goals for this semester. To recap what has happened since I wrote last: Last week I submitted an advertisement in two USF e-newsletters for our collection box located in the Honors College. The first blurb about the project went out today, and the second will hopefully come out tomorrow. I hope to see an overflowed collection box because of this next week. I also contacted a few companies about donating supplies, and will be visiting a local Staples this week to see if they are interested in donating. Also, a fellow blogger saw my entry from last week, and has started his own drive at a PBS station he works at. How cool is that? This really shows what a grassroots effort this is and how everyone can come together for the greater good.

Some of my donor letters, soliciting donations for our School Supplies Drive (Photo by: Shelby Register 2012)

Along with getting the donor letters ready, I’ve also spoken to a few of the people I’ll be sending letters to. I would like to share one of these experiences with you today.

A family friend of mine very recently got a new job within the Hillsborough County School System. Prior to this, he was a teacher and will be moving to administrative position in the next few weeks. Because of that, he is cleaning out his classroom, so I asked him if he would consider donating his supplies to our project. As I was telling him about the project, I was mentioning the goodwill it fosters with the people of Afghanistan and how it was a great way to support the troops. When I had paused, he asked “But, what about the kids?”

This really showed me the importance of speaking to your audience. While, I thought I was stressing how much of a contribution his donation would make, the things that were important to my audience, a teacher, didn’t really get used as a reason to donate. Asking for a donation is definitely a learning process, and I thank the family friend for helping me see that my requesting technique can definitely be improved!

As my blog audience, I don’t know that much about you. I don’t know if you are looking for a tax write-off, want to support the troops, or hope to help increase education. For any reason that you want to donate, just know that your donation HELPS. It helps you (it’s tax-deductible). It helps the troops (the US military is in a dangerous combat zone, and anything that will help the people of Afghanistan see that America is not a bad place is good for our troops!). It helps children (education is not possible without school supplies for notes and other learning tools).

Afghan girls with their new school supplies (Photo by Rex Temple)

Anyway you look at it, is there really a reason not to donate?

About Shelby R.

Shelby Register is in her third year at the University of South Florida. She is pursuing a Bachelor's of Science degree in Chemistry and is participating in the Honors College program. After her graduation, she hopes to go to medical school. In her free time, Shelby likes to volunteer, travel, watch the Food Network, and try out new recipes in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Charity, Education, Fundraising, School Supplies for Afghan Children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

