Onward we go~

This week there has been a whole lot of exciting things happening. To begin, I got the package of “America Supports YOU” boxes a few days after my last posting but realized that I didn’t quite order them the way I wanted. I had wanted all of them to be the large boxes but only got two and the rest were Medium (which don’t qualify for the special rate we need for the APO address military shipping). However, that’s not an issue because of this fancy thing called the Internet. I got online and put in my order for 10 more America Supports YOU large flat rate APO boxes and they should be coming in any day now. I did take a few pictures of the package I did get because I was so exciting. I got to put the new notebooks and pens my friend gave me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In this past week I’ve also been trying to spread the word about what we are trying to accomplish with this project. There have been some advancement in that department and some things to look forward to but I don’t want to talk about the specifics just yet in case it doesn’t pan out but know that I am trying to employ this fancy new technology of social media. As a side note -I’ve found it to be pretty interesting trying to contact new people to tell them about this project. You never know who will be the ones to respond. Sometimes those who you think will help are not the ones who actually do while the ones you doubted end up assisting in the end.

We are beginning the preliminary works of planning our events for the organized collection of school supplies this week. I have a few ideas planned of organizing an event with some organizations on campus along with possibly teaming up with my old high school’s National Honor Society. All of these are still in the works though, so I’ll let you know how it turns out. I actually never realized how complex organizing an event is. There are so many details that need to be thought about- some more obvious than others. Time and place are an example of the obvious, but things like how many people and what we hope to gain through each person is something I never thought about. The details do however play a vital role in how the event is planned and executed. Like they say in retail: “Details, details, details… “ or is it “location?” You get the idea.

So what are my goals for this week you ask? Continue on this path with a few additions with tweaks here and there.
1) Print some fliers so that I can hand them out to my classmates and friends that I pass by.
2) Solidify the plans with the organizations so that the events are concrete.
3) Send out some tweets and try to spread the word of what we are doing. (Any ideas of people you follow who would be interested?) I think that about sums it up for now….

So until next time~

P.S Follow me on twitter handle: @chang_phoebe to stay up-to-date with what I’m doing

About Phoebe

I'm a student at the University of South Florida majoring in Biomedical Sciences. I would like to be a Speech Language Pathologist in the future. In my spare time I enjoy learning new things, meeting new people, spending time with my family and traveling. Oh, and a good book is always a plus!
This entry was posted in Awareness campaigns, Charity, Fundraising, helping, Partner organizations, Shipping, Social media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

