Recipe for Success

The challenge continues.

I absolutely love to bake. The excitement for me first starts when I encounter that perfect recipe. Just looking at the picture makes my mouth water: I know that I have to make it. Then I have the fun of actually putting the recipe together. It’s messy, and oftentimes the batter goes all over the floor and me more than it makes it into the mixing bowl. There are frustrations with the butter clumping, the sugar not mixing smoothly, or the chocolate hardening before you have a chance to spread the melted mixture over everything. But despite these few minor setbacks, the mix always turns out delicious (I would know, I taste along the way. Eating the batter is half the fun).

Image from Google

The reason I use the metaphor of the baking is because I can relate it to our school supplies challenge. When Liisa Temple originally gave us the challenge to collect 10 boxes, that was like finding the perfect recipe. The excitement set in. This was going to be a lot of work but the end result was looking up. I had a chance to make a difference in someone’s life and no matter what went in to the recipe I was going to enjoy every minute of it.

Right now I am in the mixing part of it. The donor letters started. This past week I spent perfecting eleven donor letters, personalized to each person, from my grandparents, my mom and dad, my family friends, and even my pastor from church.

My 1st Homemade Donation Box (Photo Taken By: Me)

However, this is the part where the butter might clump a bit. I am very shy and hesitant when it comes to asking people for money or for donations. I hate putting people in a position to say yes or no and possibly think they are disappointing me if the answer is no. But I realize that I have to continue “mixing” this so called batter. In other words, I have to continue sowing my love. No matter how nervous I am, I have to do my best to make it work. My efforts are not going to cease. I will send out every donor letter. I will see where it goes. The butter might be clumping but in time it will melt and smooth and I know everything will work out how it is meant to.

So let the recipe continue. Mix, mix, mix. Or rather, ask, ask, ask.

About Allison Chalifoux

Hey everyone. I am a student at the University of South Florida majoring in public relations and business. I am a triathlete so am always training and working out. (huge nutrition and exercise buff here). I love adventure, travel, and experiencing new and exciting things. I love to cook and bake. You can find me in the kitchen most of the time experimenting with new recipes. My dream is to eventually open my own bakery specializing in wedding cakes. My nickname is Little Sunshine, so the purpose of my blogs is to bring a smile to people's faces and inspire them in their day to day activities. I currently work as a lifeguard at Adventure Island in Tampa.
This entry was posted in Charity, Fundraising, helping, School Supplies for Afghan Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

