10 boxes of hope.

As the journey continues to collect school supplies, new ideas keep popping into my head. We have just finished writing our school supplies letters for friends and family, and I feel more energized and excited about this project than ever before. I have embarked on more than just a classroom experience; I have chosen to take on a life changing task. My views on the war in Afghanistan have changed drastically since the beginning of the class. Where once my hatred of the war in Afghanistan was misguided and based on ignorant views, it now has taken a turn to full support of troops and their efforts.

After walking into class on Monday we collected all the school supplies that students had dropped off in the box we left in the Honors office.

School supplies collected at the USF Honors office (Photo by Archana Reddy)

Seeing all the supplies took me by surprise and made me realize just how many people did care enough to make a difference. Seeing such a great reaction from the Honors community is just the encouragement many of us need and it provides me with the confidence to approach other groups of people.

Last week I collected many supplies. While on duty (I’m a Resident Assistant), I stopped residents and asked them to collect any notebooks, pencils, pens, and paper that they had lying around for School Supplies for Afghan Children. I was surprised by the great response I got.

School supplies collected from residents (Photo By Archana Reddy)

I also found out how many students were not aware of the extreme rural conditions in Afghanistan. After telling them the background story of the charity, and explaining to them the lifestyle of Children in Afghanistan, many residents jumped at the opportunity to get involved. I asked many of them to spread the word to family, friends, and coworkers; and, of course, I asked them to follow the blog.

In future weeks I hope to get other residential halls on campus involved. Even if I am not collecting school supplies from everyone I hope to educate as many people as I can reach. With the support of other RAs and residence halls I can spread awareness. Although I am faced with a difficult task ahead I am confident that I can fill my 10 boxes: 10 boxes of hope, 10 boxes that represent an education, 10 boxes representing freedom. I surely can go the distance to get 10 boxes; and with a bit of luck, maybe even more.

About anar242

Hi! My name is Archana but I go by Ana. I am a 20 year old senior at USF and I am studying Biology. I aspire to be a physician and in the future I would love to work for Doctors Without Borders. In my free time I enjoy swimming, tennis, drawing, surfing, and hanging out with friends. I am excited to embark on this new journey through my major works major issues class with Liisa Temple as our professor.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, Charity, Children, Education, School Supplies for Afghan Children, Shipping, University of South Florida, USF Housing and Residential Education, War in Afghanistan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

