Let the collecting begin!!

"America Supports YOU" Large priority flat rate box Photo Courtesy: United States Postal Services

Happy Monday dear readers!

Alright so as my peers have said in the previous posts this week we have started our collection in full force. I’m happy to report that I will soon be the collector of 5 composition notebooks and a few pens. Yay for progress!! I have also just put in my order for the “America Supports You” large priority boxes (image above) and should be getting them sometime this week. I’m super excited to receive these boxes and will be putting up a picture whenever I get them in.  Apparently a roll of priority tape is also included! Can you tell I’m excited? :]

As for this coming week I plan to ask some more of my friend and classmates around me. Something that stuck with me from one of our guest speakers was that most people do not donate because they do not get asked. I’m not a person that feels comfortable asking for things but since I’ve had positive results from the peers I’ve already asked I’m not as hesitant anymore. Another yay for facing our fears! Besides, what’s the worst that can happen? They do not donate and we move on. No big deal.

I also have a list of some family and friends who I’m going to reach out to for donations and those emails and snail mails should be heading out sometime next week. We are also going to be planning an event that is with the goal of collecting supplies so if you have any ideas of perhaps collaborating with an event on campus or an organization let me know and we can work together. There are so many happenings going on that it’s hard to keep everything straight but at the same time we are now really heading into the project head on and that’s quite exciting. Although, there is a side of me that is a bit overwhelmed by all the coordination and planning (and this is only the beginning) that I feel like just walking around with a box asking for donations from people on campus. Would that be effective? Mental note.

Stay tuned for next week’s update on how this all pans out.

First batch of supplies donated in the collection bin at the Honors College! Photo by: Phoebe Chang 2012

About Phoebe

I'm a student at the University of South Florida majoring in Biomedical Sciences. I would like to be a Speech Language Pathologist in the future. In my spare time I enjoy learning new things, meeting new people, spending time with my family and traveling. Oh, and a good book is always a plus!
This entry was posted in Awareness campaigns, helping, Partner organizations, Shipping, USF Honors College and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

