Through the Eyes of a Child

Our mission officially started this week. 10 boxes each full of school supplies. A challenge, but definitely an attainable one. Fundraising and asking for help is never an easy task. So I decided to take a different approach. I put myself in the shoes of one of the children and wrote a letter from his eyes of what it would be like. Place yourself in the shoes of this young child. One simple ask can go a long way.

Dear Friends,

Little Boy With Beanie Baby (Photo taken by: Rex Temple)

You may not know me, but I am a child in Afghanistan. I’m assuming all of you have children or have friends with children so you know what it’s like with us. We want, want, want all the time. How many times have you bought your child something just on a whim, just to make them stop whining in the middle of the store? You can probably think of more instances than not where that is the case. But I don’t get the luxury of that. I wish I could get whatever I wanted. I wish I could, just for one week, live the life of a true carefree child in every definition of the word. Maybe get to play on that play station thingy you guys all rave about. But I’m not that lucky.

I live in a war torn area. I eat what I’m given, often what has been cooked in unsanitary conditions and has laid on the ground for hours. Hey, food is food. I don’t have the nicest roof over my head; oftentimes the elements like to play jokes on me.  Bugs find comfort in my clothing (the few pieces I have) and my living space. I guess you can say we’ve become good friends.

But honestly, I have learned to live with all of that. What really bothers me is the fact that I just want to be able to go to obtain an education. Something so simple to you and your children, something so commonplace and routine, is not something I get to experience as much as I would like. You take education for granted. I see education as a way out of this life I am living. With an education, I know I will be able to break free from the poverty my family suffers from. But do you know how hard it is? We go to school in the dirt. Our teachers don’t have fancy chalkboards or whiteboards to write on. We have a scarce supply of pencils and pens and paper to write on. Scare is even being generous.

I don’t want big fancy expensive things. I simply want something that many other people get so easily: an education. You can’t put a price on education.

Afghan Girls Pose With Their Beanie Babies (Photo taken by: Rex Temple)

I know right now everyone has to pinch a penny. But the least I can do is ask. How will anyone be expected to give if they aren’t even asked? I know many of you probably have extra pens or pencils, or even half used notebooks, just lying around the house. Please send some to me and my friends. Please don’t throw away what supplies you have. Box them up. Help me out. A simple act of kindness can go a long way. A simple pencil can do more for us than you could possibly imagine.

Thanks,

Me

Remember, an act of kindness can change the course of a lifetime forever.

Find out how you can help donate here.

About Allison Chalifoux

Hey everyone. I am a student at the University of South Florida majoring in public relations and business. I am a triathlete so am always training and working out. (huge nutrition and exercise buff here). I love adventure, travel, and experiencing new and exciting things. I love to cook and bake. You can find me in the kitchen most of the time experimenting with new recipes. My dream is to eventually open my own bakery specializing in wedding cakes. My nickname is Little Sunshine, so the purpose of my blogs is to bring a smile to people's faces and inspire them in their day to day activities. I currently work as a lifeguard at Adventure Island in Tampa.
This entry was posted in Education, helping, School Supplies for Afghan Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

