Lost In Thought, But Not In Action

I’ve learned so much from my parents and all the experiences that have brought me where I am today; but one thing I never truly learned was how to ask for help. In this land of plenty my mother never left me in need and my father taught me to be strong, independent, and self-sufficient – to never rely on anyone but myself. A quality I value considerably, but has left me with an extreme apprehension towards acts of social compulsion such as fundraising.

Last Mondays guest lecture was performed by Jillian Alpert, the Associate Director for WUSF Public Media. She discussed the importance of the art of fund raising and how we should use it to help support the gathering and shipment of school supplies this semester. Luckily, my lack of ability in social situations doesn’t effect my ability to learn tips and tricks for fundraising from an academic point of view. We learned that the most important part of successful and continuous fundraising is the cultivation of the intended donors. They should always be kept in the loop about what’s happening with their donation and kept as active as they choose to be, either through email or social media with which they may feel comfortable.

Following the lecture our class fell into discussions about what they were doing to spread the word and collect donations from their jobs or what not and I wonder what I have to contribute. I am unemployed and have no connection to a place capable of donating supplies. My only follower on Twitter is the professor for this class and with almost two years on Facebook I have less than a hundred friends. For that matter, if you are my friend and you read this, like my post on Facebook so I can see if anyone is actually reading this. It would be nice to know if this is pure self doubt or an analytical observation of my lack of social talent.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So now what do I do? My job. I took this class with the full intention of doing what ever it takes and if that means doing something that makes me more uncomfortable than a kick in the gut, so be it. I’veprepared a draft letter to send out to friends and family who might help and am looking into ways of asking those I don’t know for help. I can only hope that anyone who reads this will feel as compelled as I do to make some donation to the cause be it by their own supplies or by word of mouth to someone with a single spare pencil.

Follow this link for a list of items collected for school supply donations or if you have supplies for donation. Thank you for your support and have a good weekend.

This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, blog, Children, Education, helping, School Supplies for Afghan Children, Social media, Uncategorized, USF Honors College and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

