Drawing to a Close

We are standing in front of our Prize!

I want to take this opportunity to thank every person who was involved in this Major Works/Issues course, all of the people who contributed to our goal of funds and donations, and everyone who supported us. This was an amazing experience to say the least. Such a hands-on learning experience in a class is very rare. This was not like the traditional courses I have grown accustomed to. We had to take initiatives of our own to earn our grade. We had to use our network of connections to increase awareness and collect donations of school supplies and funds. And, if we did not have a large network, we had to actively work to create one. Our time spent on the course did not end inside of the classroom at our regularly scheduled meetings once every week. In fact, the course was a constant experience that kept us engaged at every moment. We used social media outside of the classroom to create awareness of our efforts. On Facebook and Twitter we always updated our status on what was going on in the course and our individual or collective efforts. Each week on WordPress we created a comprehensive blog entry as an update to our efforts and to anything that we thought was important or relevant.

It was amazing to see the outside interest that this class generated from the media, the military, and other sources. We were interviewed for a radio show, our class efforts were advertised on WUSF TV and radio, the class was mentioned in the school newspaper, and we were personally given a tour by Lt Col Wolf from MacDill Air Force base in Tampa. It is uplifting to know that people can genuinely be interested by our efforts to help children in Afghanistan. Everyone outside of the class that helped in our efforts did so out of their own will and for no personal gain. That is what touches me the most, knowing that good deeds can promote goodness in others.

In the end, we collected more than twice the amount of funds that we aimed for and shipped 190 boxes (and there is still more coming in). We all tried our best. I was happy to learn some valuable lessons that will help me in my professional career. I came to this class knowing very little and with no fundraising experience. Although my efforts produced some results, I learned a great deal from my mistakes. This was an amazing experience all together. More courses should follow a similar format. I hope the next group of students get just as much or more out of their experience in this course.

About Julio Novo

I am currently a Junior in the Honors College studying finance at the University of South Florida. I also hold a seat on the board of directors in the International Business Board in the university. My business interests are in investments and financial analysis and I am currently working to obtain a summer internship in one of these fields. However, my life isn't all about business. I am a very active tennis player and my interests range from programming to creating music. My ultimate goal is to have a significant impact on the world. A good one, of course. But for now, I'm taking things one step at a time, one managerial accounting test at a time.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Air Force, Awareness campaigns, Charity, Education, Mac Dill Air Force Base, Shipping, Social media, University of South Florida and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

