Learning Humility

Picture with the U.S. Postal Workers at Macdill Airforce Base. Thank you again! Photo Courtesy of Liisa Temple.

Once again I am reminded of how privileged I am to be surrounded by people who choose to live their lives in service of others. Giving up not only time with family but potentially their lives is a humbling thought and one I am fortunate to have grown up with.  Today, though it wasn’t my first time on MacDill Air Force Base, it was the most memorable.  Our class was able to experience a fantastic tour led by Lt Col Jason Wolf, TSgt Stephen Miles, and SSgt Tristan Nicholas.  One of the best parts of the tour on top of being able to sit in the flight simulator was meeting those who work at the post office that we ship all of our supplies through and giving them thanks in person.

Me in the flight simulator. Photo Courtesy of Liisa Temple

This class has truly enabled me to meet so many heroes.  From postal workers who spend up to 3 hours making shipments for the cause our class has adopted to the members of the U.S. military that have either been willing to give us a memorable tour or who have partnered to deliver supplies in Afghanistan. I have consistently been humbled by the sheer amount of great people that this class has introduced me to and I am so fortunate to be able to take this experience with me the rest of my life.

Two of our tour leaders: Lt Col Wolf and SSgt Nicholas. Photo Courtesy of Liisa Temple

Greg Mortenson is responsible for saying in his book Stones Into Schools that “when you take the time to actually listen, with humility, to what people have to say, it’s amazing what you can learn.”  Even though he made this statement in regards to children it is applicable to everyone and this course has not only taught us this but really enabled us to put it into practice.  Thank goodness we are spending next class putting together some well deserved thank you notes!

About kaciesegovia

My name is Kacie Segovia. I am a student at USF with a double major in psychology and criminology. I have the hopes to attend graduate school to attain a PhD in counseling and development. From there I am interested in building my career around helping at risk children in and out of the country. My ultimate goal is to use my life and opportunities as the means in which children may be provided with the ability to attain an education for themselves in areas where going to school is more a dream than a reality.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Education, Stones into Schools and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

