We keep going…and going..

Just like this bunny we keep going and going

This week in class I was lent a great deal of help by two great girls. I am not so far along in terms of supplies collected. I needed a donations box to place in the Office of Veterans Affairs. These two girls spent the entire class period decorating a box so that I could use it as my donations box. It turned out beautiful and many times better than what I could have achieved on my own. I took this box to the Office of Veterans Affairs and right away they found a good spot for the box and hung up the large poster with a picture of girls receiving school supplies and all of the information on how, what, and where to donate.

Next week we are going to participate in our first event as a class. On Wednesday, we will set up a booth along side the many other booths that are set up on Wednesdays outside of the Marshall Center. We will sell a slices of pizza to raise shipping money and have a donations box available as well so people can donate with ease.

Recently, WUSF and NPR radio published a story about our class that they will run for two weeks. This is very exciting! It is astonishing to see how much media attention this class is generating. I don’t know if we can quantify the impact that the media attention has had, but I hope it will at least garner enough interest from people to make them donate or get involved with the charity in other ways.

As always, I am staying optimistic about the donations I am going to receive. Hopefully I will reach my ten boxes before the end of the semester. However, even if I don’t personally reach that goal, I know that as a class we will definitely reach the 120-box goal. I’m looking forward to the further surprises this semester has in store for us.

About Julio Novo

I am currently a Junior in the Honors College studying finance at the University of South Florida. I also hold a seat on the board of directors in the International Business Board in the university. My business interests are in investments and financial analysis and I am currently working to obtain a summer internship in one of these fields. However, my life isn't all about business. I am a very active tennis player and my interests range from programming to creating music. My ultimate goal is to have a significant impact on the world. A good one, of course. But for now, I'm taking things one step at a time, one managerial accounting test at a time.
This entry was posted in Shipping, Uncategorized, University of South Florida, USF Bulls Market, veterans and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

