AAUW sponsors 10 boxes

Right before Spring Break, I was really nervous about how I was going to come up with the shipping money to send my 10 boxes. It’s hard to ask people for money especially in this economy. Fortunately, there are people who have some of the biggest hearts I’ve seen.

Photo Courtesy from AAUW

During my Spring Break, I emailed the ladies of the American Association of University Women (AAUW). Last semester, they generously gave me a $1,000 scholarship to travel abroad. Their mission is to “advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research” and to “belong to a community that breaks through educational and economic barriers so that all women have a fair chance”. They’ve taken positions on the fundamental issues of the day whether it’s educational, social, economic or political.

Just like I had hoped, they loved School Supplies for Afghan Children and the fact that we’re helping these children! They’ve asked me to come to their April 16th meeting to present me with a check. They also want me to come in and speak to them about my experience with this awesome charity, which I’m glad to. Through this semester, I’ve come to realize that I love sharing my experiences with other people and educating them about this charity.

24 boxes ready to ship! Photo from Sarai Quiel

This morning I woke up at 8am. It’s an awful hour to wake up as a college student. I woke up so early because I made a commitment to go to my professor’s house and help her pack up the supplies in the flat rate boxes. As soon as my alarm rang, I thought to myself, “Why did I ever agree to this?”

 

After getting to my professor’s house, some of my classmates and I, rather quickly, packed 24 boxes. We had a reporter from ABC News with us who filmed us doing the work and interviewed our classmates Jordi and Kacie. She seemed really interested in our story and was surprised at how much we’ve accomplished in less than one semester.

A highlight from going to my professor’s house was that I got to meet her adorable dogs, Charlie and Sam! Our class has heard and read so much about them that we’ve been dying to meet these dogs and it was about time! I know some of classmates that couldn’t make it today are going to be totally jealous when I let them know we got to play with the dogs

Charlie and Sam, the Temple Goldendoodles. Photo by Liisa Temple

briefly.

Driving from my professor’s house to work, I felt so accomplished and happy! Even though I asked, “Why did I ever agree to this?” this morning, I knew I was giving up a few

Photo courtesy of beeniesforbaghdad.com

hours of sleep to make a child smile. It doesn’t necessarily take school supplies or money to help this charity. Any help makes a difference whether it’s me getting up at 8am, a new reporter doing a piece on us, or someone volunteering their time to help us pack up the supplies. As Lydia M. Child wrote, “An effort made for the happiness of others lifts us above ourselves”.

About Sarai Quiel

I just graduated from the University of South Florida with a bachelors in International Business. Instead of taking the next normal step in life (aka finding a 9-5 job), for 8 GLORIOUS months, I will be teaching English in Malaga, Spain! Obviously because of my choice location, I wholeheartedly enjoy soccer, travelling, photography, reading, Salvador Dali, the beach and living life to the fullest. Click on my blog to read about my life as an expat and my latest travel adventures!
This entry was posted in Awareness campaigns, Partner organizations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AAUW sponsors 10 boxes

  1. Elena Nizhnik says:

    I would love to join you in your efforts and organize a donation drive on University of Tampa campus.

    Please let me know how we could make this possible. Where would we deliver the supply or collected funds for shipments?

    Best regards,

    Elena

Leave a Reply

