Charity 101

My classmate Zazu and I preparing 7 of our boxes for shipping. Image courtesy of Professor Liisa Temple.

Recently, our class has learned two important facets in the nature of charity work.

1.)    You are at the “mercy” of everyone else. No time is a bad time to network or receive for the cause in which you are a part of.

2.)    There is never a due date or conclusion to charity work.

I bring up these two points in light of our last class meeting. Social media and social attention are a huge part of our organizations success, and my classmates and I have learned that in order to receive such attention our schedules must sometimes be compromised. We are all running our own individual efforts to raise supplies and monetary funding to ship away to the children of Afghanistan, and then collectively coming together to discuss all successes and failures. Because our course only meets once a week other efforts outside of Monday from 9:40-11:30am are certainly called for. Solely representing an organization that exemplifies those with virtuous characteristics, unfortunately, does not mean that supplies and money fall from the sky and into our laps. As a class, who is now approaching the end of the semester, we have come to realize this much.

The very first picture of our honors class taken at the beginning of the semester. Image courtesy of Professor Liisa Temple.

There is never a due date or conclusion to charity work. Why would there be? This course is in its first semester at USF and therefore is still being molded to improve in allowing its students to contribute to the best and fullest of their ability. Because of this our class and professor have volunteered to delay “grading” for our class. At this point it is not about the grades. We are all in agreement that pushing people away because our course is over would be silly. I know that I can speak for all of my classmates when I say that we have become invested in this project and wish to continue with its success and growth outside of “One Pencil Can Help Bring Peace”. It is no longer a class, but a hobby and an aspect of who we are.

Winston Churchill, one of my favorite men to quote, and that I probably reference too frequently, once said, “We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.” I believe with my full heart that this is true. Only living a life for yourself can be satisfying and successful; but, it only gives you day to day satisfaction. A life comes from giving. Once you give and receive that feeling of charity and contribution to the success of something other than yourself gives you fulfillment and purpose for a lifetime. You become someone else’s source of hope.

The efforts, results, and lessons of charity work are eternal.

About Zoe Stiling

Hi! I am currently a junior at the University of South Florida. I am majoring in English with a concentration in technical and professional writing with a minor in political science. I am entering the world of Wordpress for a class course and charitable cause “One Pencil Can Help Bring Peace”. I am on the USF rowing team and apart of the USF honors college. I am a first generation American of English decent and love to travel. For fun I enjoy reading, running and spending time with my friends and family. My current goal is to maintain my GPA and hard work ethic to prepare for acceptance into graduate school.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, Social media, University of South Florida, USF Honors College and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

