Tribute to the Charity of Others

WUSF's University Beat logo where the news story of our course can be found. Photo Courtesy of WUSF

To gauge how successful you truly are you must have at one point been at risk of or intimately familiar with un-success.  As one who has indeed been familiar with such I am encouraged to say I have been very successful so far this semester.  Starting from where the blog has left off I was fortunate enough to be picked for Mark Schreiner’s coverage of our class under the University Beat Segment of WUSF.  Unfortunately I also chose to wear a white shirt the very day I was scheduled to have an interview, which is not the best pick when there are a lot of bright lights & a white background.  Thankfully a fellow classmate, Katie Fratesi, saved me from that situation by letting me borrow her sweater for the interview.  The interview along with a radio segment is up and running about the course that details the impact that the course not only has on those who will be receiving the donated supplies but the impact that it has had on all of us as students.

Personally I would like to open up once again on the progress of the impact this class is currently having on me.  This course encourages me to actively search out those who are potentially willing to donate and then hopefully convince to go along with that idea.  As a result I am face to face with the overwhelming charitableness of others.  For example the fantastic news story put together by Mark Schreiner was unnecessary for him to do but he not only did it but did it in a big way so that this cause can gain greater publicity. Another example is when Professor Temple and I were fortunate enough to be invited by the Safety Harbor Rotary Club to talk about our current efforts.  I was expecting to gain some valuable experience in how to present a not-for-profit to others to get the word out and maybe pique the interest of some of those listening.  However I was not expecting to receive a donation of $200 by one of the members at the end of the presentation.

The Safety Harbor Resort & Spa where where Professor Temple and I gave our presentation at and was met with a generous donation to support our shipping fund! Photo Courtesy of Safety Harbor Rotary

Once again I was literally face to face with the charitableness of others. Beginning with BiC and leading to the Rotary Club I am able to see another set of heroes gain momentum in my mind.  Sure I always considered the students in Afghanistan heroes but this new group, a group that is willing to donate their time, resources, and money are heroes in their own right as well.  After all to be a hero, well at least according to Merriam-Webster dictionary, one must be admired in their achievements and noble qualities.  What is more admirable and noble than these very individuals I have had the privilege to interact with and see first hand of their willingness to give to this organization. Nothing in my book!

About kaciesegovia

My name is Kacie Segovia. I am a student at USF with a double major in psychology and criminology. I have the hopes to attend graduate school to attain a PhD in counseling and development. From there I am interested in building my career around helping at risk children in and out of the country. My ultimate goal is to use my life and opportunities as the means in which children may be provided with the ability to attain an education for themselves in areas where going to school is more a dream than a reality.
This entry was posted in Awareness campaigns, Education, University of South Florida and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

