A Good Week

This is what I have so far

What a week! I emailed several local companies that sell school supplies. Of the ones that I emailed, Lakeshore Learning, actually replied. I received an email from a representative saying that she had forwarded my request to Lakeshore Learning’s donation committee for review of my donations request. She also said that I should receive a decision within one to two weeks. This makes me fantastically excited! To know that my request is at least being considered is incredible. This means that I have a chance. I am still waiting to hear from other companies and hope to at least receive some sort of contact as to whether or not I will get a donation.

In my first hand efforts to raise school supplies, I’ve actually raised two boxes worth, with more promised. From the University Experience class where students could donate for a bonus point, I’ve gained about 25% of a box . From my personal haggling of people that live in the BBC I’ve raised 1.5 boxes worth of materials! This leaves me with the obvious conclusion that knocking on people’s doors and directly asking them for materials is the best way to be successful. I am planning on going to different floors of my dorm (accompanied by a friend so that I don’t seems like the lone creep), and knocking on everyone’s door to ask them for school supplies. This works best because they’re in a little room and have nowhere to run to when confronted with the dilemma of whether to donate or not. Also, they have immediate access to their school materials. I don’t know how much I’ll be able to gather from this, but I am staying optimistic as always.

I’ve received word from the Office of Veterans Affairs. They have given their consent to host a donations box at their office. Also, Tony has agreed to message the veterans that receive emails from the office to ask them to donate. Once again, I don’t know how successful this will be, but I’m keeping my hopes up. The people that are active within the Office of Veterans Affairs are veterans of the United States Military that attend the University of South Florida. Hopefully, the military ties that this charity has will provide the veterans with a greater incentive to donate their school supplies. I’m hoping the week after spring break will also be successful. I can’t wait!

About Julio Novo

I am currently a Junior in the Honors College studying finance at the University of South Florida. I also hold a seat on the board of directors in the International Business Board in the university. My business interests are in investments and financial analysis and I am currently working to obtain a summer internship in one of these fields. However, my life isn't all about business. I am a very active tennis player and my interests range from programming to creating music. My ultimate goal is to have a significant impact on the world. A good one, of course. But for now, I'm taking things one step at a time, one managerial accounting test at a time.
This entry was posted in Bulls Business Community, University of South Florida, US Army, veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

