Ladies Without Limits

The date is set.  We stop collecting supplies on USF’s Tampa campus April 22nd.  We are already fast forwarding into March and all I can think of is I need more.  Sure I have already received a donation of pens, some other school supplies that can fill a box or two, and various promises of more donations on their way but the thought of I need more will not go away. This is due to the fact of how I handle any type of success.  Most of the time the satisfaction in my accomplishments help me continue to go after what I need.  More importantly the dissatisfaction in what I have yet to accomplish serves as my main motivator to go after more.

My inability to be complacent after reaching a set point is something that is agonizingly stressful at times but also serves to create astonishing results.  There can never be enough in my mind, especially in this type of work.  Greg Mortenson started with one school and now has established or supports over 145.  How then can I be satisfied with 3000 pens? I know that one day when I get my chance to build schools or educate children I will not put a goal that states after 300 children reach a fifth grade reading level it’s all over.  Just as in this class after I reach 10 boxes of supplies I am not putting down the computer and refusing to reach out to any more potential donors.  In actuality I will probably continue to donate supplies to this organization even when I am done with this class.

One of Greg Mortenson's schools. Photo Courtesy of Central Asia Institute

As for my next step, my friends and family need to watch out because I am coming for them. I might even be going after a former school or two if need be.  I have learned you need twice the amount of ideas and motivation to make up for all the no’s you will get.  For example I have already been turned down over 15 times when asking people for donations or giving them ideas to convince them to do a drive.  A great quote I found was by Karen Ravn: “Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go, only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be.”

Afghan girl drawing. Photo courtesy of National Geographic

This is a perfect example why most of the time limits for me are taken more as suggestions. If I do not allow any limit to be placed on what I can do by myself or by others then I am limitless. If a female child in Afghanistan refuses to allow restrictions on her life to dictate who she is and what she can become then there is no one that can say I can not do the same. That is why I am constantly accompanied by the feeling of needing more.  Because the greater awareness, school supplies, and support I get the less limits and oppression females in Afghanistan get in return. In turn we get the most beautiful result of having little girls grow up to be ladies without limits.

About kaciesegovia

My name is Kacie Segovia. I am a student at USF with a double major in psychology and criminology. I have the hopes to attend graduate school to attain a PhD in counseling and development. From there I am interested in building my career around helping at risk children in and out of the country. My ultimate goal is to use my life and opportunities as the means in which children may be provided with the ability to attain an education for themselves in areas where going to school is more a dream than a reality.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, Education and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

