Out of Panic Comes 3,000 BiC Pens

Thank you BIC for your generous donation of pens! Photo Courtesy of BIC

Remember that first post about having 39 pens, 23 pencils, and so on.  Well it’s time for an update.  I now have 3039 pens, thanks to BIC Corporation.  It all happened because I was dreadfully ill.  You see I was beginning to panic because I have not been able to shake this devious sick bug that has caused me to lose many nights of sleep and changed my ordinary voice into either something nonexistent or something unintelligible due to the constant coughing.  As a result I saw my plans crumble before they even took off.  The meetings that had been thought of along with the lofty speeches I was prepared to give to potential donors all went out the window.  That’s when the panic hit.  I can’t go out in public looking as sick as I did and ask them for their school supplies or money.  They would be appalled at the fact that I was even let out of my bed.  So I used the resource that this class encourages us to use, the Internet, to reach potential donors.  I sent out emails to various companies in a desperate attempt to make up for all the work that I had lost.

Then one day my husband informed me that a delivery was outside of our house.  His first thought when he saw three large boxes piled on top of each other was that I had gone shopping again.  My first thought was that someone must have my credit card information and just started ordering things.  Fortunately I looked a little closer at each of these boxes and saw a tag that said: “School Supplies For Afghan Children.”  So we dragged these boxes into the front room and I opened one up.  Pens.  Thousands of purple pens.  BIC actually responded to my plead for school supplies!  In about a week they read my email and shipped 3000 pens to my doorstep.  Needless to say I was speechless.  Then after that 30 seconds passed I immediately got on Facebook sending out status updates in honor of BIC, uploading pictures of the shipment, and sending excited emails to Professor Temple about what just happened.

Picture of the BIC shipment of pens.

When something like this happens it makes up for all the negative responses you receive and it serves as a great encourager to your future efforts.  Thanks to BIC my panic subsided and I began to regain my footing on this project.  However I made sure not to bask in this success for long because what is a pen without paper? Now I’m going after some notebooks.

About kaciesegovia

My name is Kacie Segovia. I am a student at USF with a double major in psychology and criminology. I have the hopes to attend graduate school to attain a PhD in counseling and development. From there I am interested in building my career around helping at risk children in and out of the country. My ultimate goal is to use my life and opportunities as the means in which children may be provided with the ability to attain an education for themselves in areas where going to school is more a dream than a reality.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, University of South Florida, USF Honors College and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out of Panic Comes 3,000 BiC Pens

  1. Pingback: Making a Difference Today! | School Supplies for Afghan Children

Leave a Reply

