Getting Exposure

 

This represents our radio exposure

This represents our radio exposure

This week was about taking our first steps to collecting school supplies. Our class went to an A.M. radio talk-show. SMSgt Rex Temple and his wife, Liisa Temple, were interviewed. They were asked questions about the school supplies drive and their efforts to bring the supplies to children in Afghanistan. Rex was also interviewed along side an 8 year old girl who single handedly collected many boxes of school supplies. Two members of our class talked on the air after Liisa and her husband. They mentioned our efforts as a class to collect supplies. They talked about how we got started with this project, how we heard about the class, and what inspired us to be involved.

After the show, we were given advice on how to reach out to more media outlets to spread the interest in our project. In essence, our best bet to be taken seriously by the radio or television stations is to be consistent in our efforts to get coverage of our project to the point of annoyance.

My personal efforts to raise school supplies have so far not been very fruitful. The boxes that were set up in the BBC (Bulls Business Community) are being mostly neglected. My peers just don’t seem too interested in dropping their old things in a box in the middle of their PODS. However, all hope is not lost. I’ve garnered interest from one of my fellow directors in the International Business Board who wants to present a school supplies drive as a possible idea for a philanthropic event with his fraternity. I have a contact in the office of veterans’ affairs who might like to either host a box or a drive for supplies. Also, I can still contact the advisor who is in charge of the BBC who might be willing to host this as an event for the entire BBC. All is not lost. I still have several weeks remaining. I only need to collect 10 boxes of school supplies and $12.90 for each box.

I think that the best response will come from asking local and national businesses to donate funds or old supplies. I’m sure they would be more than willing to donate to this cause, which has gotten national coverage. I know Walmart and Target have official donations departments, but these might take a while to respond to our requests for supplies. I am still staying positive about our prospects. This project speaks for itself and I think any business would be happy to help.

About Julio Novo

I am currently a Junior in the Honors College studying finance at the University of South Florida. I also hold a seat on the board of directors in the International Business Board in the university. My business interests are in investments and financial analysis and I am currently working to obtain a summer internship in one of these fields. However, my life isn't all about business. I am a very active tennis player and my interests range from programming to creating music. My ultimate goal is to have a significant impact on the world. A good one, of course. But for now, I'm taking things one step at a time, one managerial accounting test at a time.
This entry was posted in Awareness campaigns, Social media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Exposure

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Getting Exposure | School Supplies for Afghan Children -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

