Ignorance Isn’t Bliss

As we continue on this journey I can myself already overcoming challenges I didn’t think I would have. With each new week that I collect more school supplies, I know I can make a bigger impact.  This week we are planning and organizing our events for both School Supplies for Afghan Children and for American Veterans with Brain Injuries.

This week in class we broke off into our separate groups to discuss events. There was a hum of excitement in the air as we organized location, sponsors, and fundraising activities. No one voiced their determination; it was a silent language.

For School Supplies for Afghan Children I have chosen to partner with the USF Honors Council. We will be holding a Spring Picnic. As I organize information, collect school supplies, and help design flyers and advertising methods, everything seems to be falling into place. As we e-mail and mail out our letters we hold hope close to our hearts, and with our fingers crossed we bravely ask our audience to donate.

Boxes we are trying to fill with School Supplies (Photo by Rex Temple)

I am starting to collect boxes that I can give to other RAs for their floors. If I can get this to go campus residence hall wide I know I will be able to collect many school supplies. My determination to collect supplies is not based on the desire for a good grade, and it isn’t based on recognition; it is based in small villages thousands of miles from here. The fire behind my relentless badgering of professors, students, family, and friends lies within the hearts of Afghan Children.

I would like to thank all of you who do read my blog. I encourage you to continue to follow it, but most of all I request that you share it.

Be the change you wish to see (Photo taken from http://be-the-change-you-want-to-see-in-the-wor.seebyseeing.net/)

I ask that you spread knowledge about this cause, collect school supplies, clear out your office drawers, attics, and clear out boxes at home. Set up boxes in offices, at churches, in schools. Our silence and ignorance is more dangerous than you could imagine. With $0.11 you can change the world. So what’s holding you back?

About anar242

Hi! My name is Archana but I go by Ana. I am a 20 year old senior at USF and I am studying Biology. I aspire to be a physician and in the future I would love to work for Doctors Without Borders. In my free time I enjoy swimming, tennis, drawing, surfing, and hanging out with friends. I am excited to embark on this new journey through my major works major issues class with Liisa Temple as our professor.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Awareness campaigns, Charity, Children, Education, Fundraising, helping, Inspiration, School Supplies for Afghan Children, University of South Florida, USF Housing and Residential Education and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

