Taking it One Pencil at a Time

“So much time and so little to do. Wait a minute. Strike that. Reverse it,” Willy Wonka states in the classic film Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. This past week, I have found myself thinking along the lines of that famous candy man….

That man may know just as much about life as he does candy... (Photo from dk presents...)

Wednesday February 7th through Saturday February 11th I was traveling for graduate school interviews; this week Wednesday through Saturday I will be involved at a research conference; and next week, Thursday through Saturday I will be interviewing at another graduate school. Needless to say, I am missing a lot of time from class and a lot of time from my source of income (48 hours of work to be exact). While I am so excited and happy to be going on these trips, I am apprehensive about missing so much work and school time. Being your typical honors student, I am staying on top of my assignments as much as I can. However, one class in particular I am having a difficult time doing this with is the course I have been writing to you about the past couple of weeks.

See, here are some of thoughts racing through my mind: how can I be productively raising school supplies for Afghanistan when I am using my spare time to catch up on my school work? How can I host a fundraising event when I am flying all over the country (i.e., Pittsburgh, Las Vegas, New Brunswick)? How can I fill 10 boxes when I haven’t even packed (or unpacked) my suitcases? How can I get my brain to shut down for a few seconds?!?

Sometimes when I have a big goal in mind, I concentrate mostly on the outcome. In this case, I am concentrating on the outcome of needing to fill at least 10 boxes with school supplies to ship to children in Afghanistan. However, sometimes it is important to remember that every big goal begins with a starting step. For instance, 10 boxes really equals 1 box + 1 box + 1 box + 1 box + 1 box + 1 box + 1 box + 1 box + 1 box + 1 box. That doesn’t seem as intimidating does it?

The baby steps are adding up (Photo by Jenna Cummings)

This week, instead of concentrating on what I can’t do, I need to focus on what I can do. For instance, at my apartment when I was just chatting about my day I mentioned my class to my roommate (click here for more information on how you can help the cause). My roommate then proceeded to enter her room and come out with a full box of supplies for me. Then, yesterday at work when I was mentioning the course again and least expected anything to happen, my boss donated to me another filled box. I have two boxes of supplies after just about one week. Look at that. I guess sometimes when we think big, we forget how good things come in small packages.

Want to do something small that will help me out? Go through your room and find all your extra school supplies, put them in something and contact me!

This entry was posted in Charity, Children, Education, University of South Florida, USF Honors College and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

